

Brussels, 10 October 2019 (OR. en)

12718/19

**CDR 204** 

## **COVER NOTE**

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Delegations
Subject:	Committee of the Regions
	- Letter from Slovenia - Appointment of two members and three alternate members

Delegations will find attached a letter dated 2 October 2019 from Mr Janez LENARČIČ, Permanent Representative of the Slovenia to the European Union, addressed to Mr Jeppe TRANHOLM-MIKKELSEN, Secretary-General of the Council of the EU.

Encl. IM 10401 2019:

12718/19 MBN GIP.1



Rue du Commerce 44, 1000 Bruxelles, Belgium

T: +32 2 213 63 00 E: spbr@gov.si

www.brussels.representation.si

Secretary General of the Council Jeppe Tranholm-Mikkelsen Rue de la Loi/Wetstraat 175 B-1048 Bruxelles/Brussel

Number:

5421-296/2019-SPBR/5

Date:

2 October 2019

Dear Secretary General Mr Tranholm-Mikkelsen,

It is my pleasure to forward to you the proposal for the renewal of members and substitute members of the delegation of Slovenia to the Committee of Region for the term of office until 25 January 2020, following the local elections in November 2018.

We would kindly ask the General Secretariat to undertake the necessary procedures for their appointment.

All the required information is available in the attached Annexes II and III.

With best regards,

Janez Lenarčič

Ambassador - Permanent Representative

12718/19

**MBN** 

1

Issued by: Republic of Slovenia Certificate no.: 55 e4 1f 3f 00 Expires on: 12.04.2022 Document ref. no.: 032-34/2019/28 Time of signature: 12:58 02/10/2019

Signatory: Roman Lavtar

REPUBLIC OF SLOVENIA
MINISTRY OF PUBLIC
ADMINISTRATION
DEPARTMENT FOR LOCAL
SELF-GOVERNMENT

Tržaška cesta 21, 1000 Ljubljana, Slovenia T: 01 478 85 41

F: 01 478 87 57 E: gp.mju@gov.si www.mju.gov.si

Permanent Representation of the Republic of Slovenia to the EU Mr Janez Lenarčič, Ambassador

### slomission.eu@gov.si

Number: 032-34/2019/28 Date: 2 October 2019

Subject: Proposal to change the members and alternate members of the

Slovenian delegation to the European Committee of the Regions for

the period to 25 January 2020

On 12 July 2019 the Ministry of Public Administration sent the Committee of the Regions its proposal to change the members and alternate members of the Slovenian delegation to the European Committee of the Regions for the period to 25 January 2020. On 26 September 2019 we were informed by the Committee that you are the competent authority for communicating this proposal to the General Secretariat of the European Commission [sic].

In accordance with Article 3(2) of the Rules of Procedure of the Committee of the Regions, the term of office of a member or alternate is terminated, inter alia, at the end of the electoral mandate on the basis of which they were appointed.

Regular local elections were held in Slovenia in November 2018, following which the mandates of five members or alternate members of the Committee ended.

The members of the Slovenian delegation to the Committee whose mandate has ended are:

- Mr Peter Bossman
- Ms Andreja Potočnik

The alternate members of the Slovenian delegation to the Committee whose mandate has ended are:

- Ms Mojca Čemas Stjepanovič
- Ms Tanja Vindiš Furman
- Mr Miran Senčar

In accordance with the criteria set out in the Decision on the criteria and procedure for the composition of delegations of representative associations of municipalities to international organisations of municipalities and other international organisations (Official Gazette of the Republic of Slovenia no. 14/11), we asked the representative associations of Slovenian municipalities to nominate suitable candidates to succeed the members or alternate members of the Slovenian delegation whose mandate has ended.

The following are nominated as members:

- Mr Gregor Macedoni
- Ms Nuška Gajšek

The following are nominated as alternate members:

- Mr Aleksander Saša Aresnovič
- Ms Breda Arnšek
- Ms Vlasta Krmelj

Further information about the nominated candidates can be found in annexes 2 and 3.

Please forward this proposal to the relevant institutions for the next stage in the procedure.

(Complimentary close).

Prepared by: Helena Kavčič Under-Secretary Dr Roman Lavtar Secretary Head of Department

**Enclosed:** 

- annex 2 and 3

Sent to:

- address

Copy to:

- Minister's office

#### **SLOVENIA**

#### CANDIDATES FOR MEMBERS OF THE DELEGATION

### Mr Gregor MACEDONI

Mandate: župan Mestne občine Novo mesto

local councillor Type of mandate: (a)

> (b) mayor

<del>(e)</del> member of a regional assembly (d) member of a regional executive body

post with political accountability to an elected assembly

Period of the mandate: until November 2022 (a)

indeterminate duration

### Ms Nuška GAJŠEK

Mandate: županja Mestne občine Ptuj

local councillor Type of mandate: <del>(a)</del>

> (b) mayor

member of a regional assembly member of a regional executive body

post with political accountability to an elected assembly

Period of the mandate: until November 2022 (a)

indeterminate duration

## CANDIDATES FOR ALTERNATE MEMBERS OF THE DELEGATION

## Mr Aleksander Saša ARESNOVIČ

Mandate: župan Mestne občine Maribor

**Type of mandate:** (a) local councillor

> (b) mayor

member of a regional assembly member of a regional executive body

post with political accountability to an elected assembly

Period of the mandate: until November 2022 (a)

> indeterminate duration <del>(b)</del>

# Ms Breda ARNŠEK

Mandate: podžupanja Mestne občine Celje

local councillor Type of mandate: (a)

> mayor (b)

member of a regional assembly member of a regional executive body

post with political accountability to an elected assembly

Period of the mandate: (a) until November 2022

indeterminate duration

## Ms Vlasta KRMELJ

Mandate: županja Občine Selnica ob Dravi

Type of mandate: (a) local councillor

(b) mayor

(c) member of a regional assembly
(d) member of a regional executive body

(e) post with political accountability to an elected assembly

**Period of the mandate:** (a) until November 2022

(b) indeterminate duration