

Brussels, 19 January 2018 (OR. en)

5472/18

INST 25 CMPT 3

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing two members of the Court of Auditors
	- Adoption

- 1. Pursuant to Article 286(2) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the Council, after consulting the European Parliament, shall adopt the list of Members of the Court of Auditors drawn up in accordance with the proposals made by each Member State, for a term of six years.
- 2. For the present partial renewal of the Court of Auditors, involving two members whose term of office expires on 28 February 2018, the Council consulted the European Parliament on 15 November 2018 on the appointment of:
 - a) Mr Tony MURPHY, proposed by the Government of Ireland, to replace Mr Kevin CARDIFF (14272/17);
 - b) Ms Eva LINDSTRÖM, proposed by the Government of the Kingdom of Sweden, to replace Mr Hans Gustaf WESSBERG (14085/17).
- 3. The European Parliament delivered its opinion on these appointments on 17 January 2018.

- 4. The Committee is therefore invited to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision appointing the above members of the Court of Auditors, as set out in 5233/18 INST 12 CMPT 2 as an item without discussion.
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

5472/18 KDB/kdb 2
DPG **EN**