

Brussels, 6 June 2022 (OR. en)

8729/22

**INST 153 CMPT 10** 

## **'I/A' ITEM NOTE**

| From:    | General Secretariat of the Council                                     |
|----------|--|
| To:      | Permanent Representatives Committee/Council                            |
| Subject: | Draft Council Decision appointing two members of the Court of Auditors |
|          | - Adoption   |

- 1. Pursuant to Article 286(2) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the Council, after consulting the European Parliament, is to adopt the list of Members of the Court of Auditors drawn up in accordance with the proposals made by each Member State, for a term of six years.
- 2. The present partial renewal of the Court of Auditors involves one member whose term of office expires on 30 September 2022 and one member whose term of office expires on 1 November 2022<sup>1</sup>.

8729/22 ADT/ft 1
GIP.INST EN

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> ST 10082/21

- 3. The Council consulted the European Parliament on 10 February 2022 on the appointment of:
  - Mr Lefteris CHRISTOFOROU, proposed by the Republic of Cyprus<sup>2</sup> a)
  - Mr George Marius HYZLER, proposed by the Republic of Malta<sup>3</sup>; b)
- 4. The European Parliament delivered its opinions on these appointments on 3 May 2022.
- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore invited to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision appointing the above members of the Court of Auditors, as set out in document 8726/22, as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.

8729/22 2 ADT/ft EN **GIP.INST** 

<sup>2</sup> 5686/22 + ADD1

<sup>5846/22.</sup>