

Council of the European Union

> Brussels, 28 May 2020 (OR. en)

8389/20

RECH 186 ATO 25

NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
То:	Delegations
Subject:	Draft Council Decision appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee

Delegations will find attached the above-mentioned proposal in view of receiving comments from

the Joint Research/Atomic Questions Working Party.

Delegations are kindly requested to send their comments to:

ecomp3b.research@consilium.europa.eu Nada.Sirotic@mvep.hr Zorana.Barisic@mvep.hr Doris.Jozic@mvep.hr

by cob Wednesday, 10 June 2020.

DRAFT COUNCIL DECISION

<u>OF ...</u>

APPOINTING MEMBERS OF THE SCIENTIFIC AND TECHNICAL COMMITTEE

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and in particular Article 134 (2) thereof,

After consulting the European Commission,

ECOMP.3.B.

Whereas:

- By Decision of 6 November 2018¹, the Council appointed the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee ("the Committee") for the period from 6 November 2018 to 6 November 2023.
- (2) Following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland from the European Union and from the European Atomic Energy Community ("Euratom"), and in accordance with Article 50(3) of the Treaty on the European Union, which applies to Euratom by virtue of Article 106a of the Treaty establishing the European Atomic Energy Community, and Article 7(1) of the Withdrawal Agreement concluded by the European Union and the European Atomic Energy Community and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, the mandates of the three members of the Committee nominated by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Mr Frank BRISCOE, Mr Martin MURRAY and Ms Fiona RAYMENT, have become vacant. Three new members should therefore be appointed for the remainder of Mr Frank BRISCOE's, Mr Martin MURRAY's and Ms Fiona RAYMENT's term of office.

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

ECOMP.3.B.

¹ Council Decision of 6 November 2018 appointing the members of the Scientific and Technical Committee (OJ C 403, 9.11.2018, p.2).

Article 1

Mr Andris ANSPOKS, Mr Emmanuel SINAGRA and Ms Beata TYBURSKA-PUESCHEL are hereby appointed members of the Scientific and Technical Committee until 6 November 2023.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the Council

The President

ECOMP.3.B.