

Brussels, 17 July 2020 (OR. en)

9719/20

CDR 73

'I' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee
Subject:	Council Decision appointing two members, proposed by the Hellenic Republic, of the Committee of the Regions
	- Adoption by silence procedure

- 1. By letters dated 24 March 2020 and 22 June 2020, the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the resignation of Mr Symeon ROUSSOS and Mr Moses ELISAF, members of the Committee of the Regions.¹
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals from the respective Member States.

9719/20

AH 1 EN GIP.1

^{7017/20, 9036/20.}

- 3. In accordance with that provision, the Greek Government has proposed² the following persons as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office:
 - Mr Dimitrios BIRMPAS, Municipal Councilor of Egaleo,
 - Mr Ioannis KOURAKIS, Municipal Councilor of Heraklion.
- 4. In accordance with Article 12(2)b of the Council's Rules of Procedure, the Presidency invites the Permanent Representatives Committee to examine the text of the appointing Decision, as set out in document 9718/20, and to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision by simplified written procedure ("silence procedure").
- 5. That Decision will be published in the Official Journal of the European Union pursuant to the second subparagraph of Article 297(2) TFEU.

9729/20.

9719/20 AH GIP.1

2