

Brussels, 26 March 2021 (OR. en)

6776/21

CDR 25

LEGISLATIVE ACTS AND OTHER INSTRUMENTS

COUNCIL DECISION appointing a member, proposed by the Kingdom of Belgium, of the Committee of the Regions Subject:

EN

GSC.GIP.1

COUNCIL DECISION (EU) 2021/...

of ...

appointing a member, proposed by the Kingdom of Belgium, of the Committee of the Regions

THE COUNCIL OF THE EUROPEAN UNION,

Having regard to the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, and in particular Article 305 thereof,

Having regard to Council Decision (EU) 2019/852 of 21 May 2019 determining the composition of the Committee of the Regions¹,

Having regard to the proposal from the Belgian Government,

_

OJ L 139, 27.5.2019, p. 13.

Whereas:

- (1) Pursuant to Article 300(3) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, the Committee of the Regions is to consist of representatives of regional and local bodies who either hold a regional or local authority electoral mandate or are politically accountable to an elected assembly.
- On 26 March 2020 the Council adopted Decision (EU) 2020/511¹, appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025.
- (3) A member's seat on the Committee of the Regions has become vacant following the resignation of Mr Willem-Frederik SCHILTZ.
- (4) The Belgian government has proposed Ms Gwendolyn RUTTEN, who holds a regional electoral mandate as a member of the *Vlaams Parlement* (Flemish parliament), as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025,

HAS ADOPTED THIS DECISION:

6776/21 MKW/RC/fh 2 GSC.GIP.1 EN

Council Decision (EU) 2020/511 of 26 March 2020 appointing the members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the period from 26 January 2020 to 25 January 2025 (OJ L 113, 8.4.2020, p. 18).

Article 1

The following is hereby appointed as a member of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025:

– Ms Gwendolyn RUTTEN, Member of a Regional Assembly: Vlaams Parlement.

Article 2

This Decision shall enter into force on the date of its adoption.

Done at ...,

For the Council
The President