

Council of the European Union

Brussels, 23 April 2021 (OR. en)

7961/21

CDR 41

'I' ITEM NOTE	
From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee
Subject:	Council Decision appointing four members and nine alternate members, proposed by Romania, of the Committee of the Regions
	- Decision to use the written procedure for the adoption

- By letters of 7 September 2020, 23 November 2020, 15 January 2021 and 9 February 2021¹, the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the end of the term of office of four members of the Committee of the Regions: Mr Decebal FĂGĂDĂU, Mr Victor MORARU, Mr Ion PRIOTEASA and Mr Marius Horia ȚUȚUIANU, as well as of the end of the term of office of nine alternate members of the Committee of the Regions: Mr Ştefan ILIE, Mr Emil Radu MOLDOVAN, who has resigned, Mr Petre Emanoil NEAGU, who has resigned, Mr Cosmin NECULA, Mr Emilian OPREA, who has resigned, Mr Marian PETRACHE, Mr Horia TEODORESCU, who has resigned, Mr Mădălin – Ady TEODOSESCU and Mr Bogdan Andrei TOADER.
- Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals by the respective Member State.

GIP.1

¹ 11546/21, 5408/21, 6700/21, 6580/21.

- 3. In accordance with that provision and for the purpose of replacement of four members, the Government of Romania has proposed² Mr Daniel BĂLUȚĂ (*Mayor of District 4, Bucharest Municipality*), Mr Petre Emanoil NEAGU (*President of Buzău County Council*), Mr Alin-Adrian NICA (*President of Timiş County Council*) and Mr Corneliu ŞTEFAN (*President of Dâmbovița County Council*), all representatives of local or regional bodies with political accountability to an elected assembly, as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- 4. For the purpose of replacement of nine alternate members, the Government of Romania has proposed Mr Ionel Ovidiu BOGDAN (*President of Maramureş County Council*), Mr Iustin-Marinel CIONCA-ARGHIR (*President of Arad County Council*), Ms Aurelia FEDORCA (*Mayor of Negreşti Oaş, Satu Mare County*), Mr Adrian Ionuţ GÂDEA (*President of Teleorman County Council*), Mr Dănuţ GROZA (*Mayor of Sânnicolau Mare, Timiş County*), Mr Florin Tiberiu IACOB-RIDZI (*Mayor of Petroşani Municipality, Hunedoara County*), Mr Ştefan ILIE (*Mayor of Tulcea Municipality, Tulcea County*), Mr Ion MÎNZÎNĂ (*President of Argeş County Council*) and Mr Dorin Cosmin VASILE (*President of Dolj County Council*), all representatives of local or regional bodies with political accountability to an elected assembly, as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- 5. The above members and alternate members should be appointed in time in order to participate in the plenary session of the Committee of the Regions that will take place 5-7 May 2021. It is therefore necessary to adopt the appointing decision by ordinary written procedure, as no Council meeting will take place before that date.

GIP.1

² 7148/21, 7440/21.

- 6. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore invited:
 - a) to confirm its agreement on the text of the Decision appointing four members and nine alternate members, proposed by Romania, of the Committee of the Regions, as set out in document 7793/21;
 - b) to decide, in accordance with the first subparagraph of Article 12(1) of the Council's Rules of Procedure and Article 1 of Council Decision 2020/430, that the Council uses the written procedure for its adoption.