

Brussels, 1 April 2022 (OR. en)

7618/22

CDR 41

'I/A' ITEM NOTE

From:	General Secretariat of the Council
To:	Permanent Representatives Committee/Council
Subject:	Council Decision appointing two members and five alternate members, proposed by the Portuguese Republic, of the Committee of the Regions
	- Adoption

- 1. By letters of 4 February 2021, and of 19 and 20 October 2021, the Secretary-General of the Committee of the Regions notified the Council of the loss of mandate of Mr Fernando Medina Maciel ALMEIDA CORREIA and Mr José Maria DA CUNHA COSTA, members of the Committee of the Regions, as well as of the loss of mandate of Mr Pedro Miguel AMARO DE BETTENCOURT CALADO, Mr Rui Miguel DA SILVA ANDRÉ, Mr Luís Manuel DOS SANTOS CORREIA and Mr Paulo Jorge FRAZÃO BATISTA DOS SANTOS, alternate members of the Committee of the Regions.¹
- 2. Under Article 305 TFEU, members and alternate members of the Committee of the Regions are appointed by the Council, acting by a qualified majority on proposals by the respective Member State.

7618/22 ADT/ft 1
GIP.INST

^{1 6809/21, 13163/21} and 13166/21.

- 3. In accordance with that provision and for the purpose of the replacement of Mr Fernando Medina Maciel ALMEIDA CORREIA and Mr José Maria DA CUNHA COSTA, the Portuguese Government has proposed² the following representatives of local bodies, who hold a local authority electoral mandate, as members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025: Mr Luís Miguel CORREIA ANTUNES, *Presidente da Câmara Municipal da Lousã* (Mayor of Lousã) (he was previously an alternate member for the period 2020-2025 and therefore an additional seat of alternate member will become vacant following his appointment as member), and Mr José Manuel PEREIRA RIBEIRO, *Presidente da Câmara Municipal de Valongo* (Mayor of Valongo).
- 4. For the purpose of the replacement of Mr Pedro Miguel AMARO DE BETTENCOURT CALADO, Mr Luís Miguel CORREIA ANTUNES, Mr Rui Miguel DA SILVA ANDRÉ, Mr Luís Manuel DOS SANTOS CORREIA and Mr Paulo Jorge FRAZÃO BATISTA DOS SANTOS, the Portuguese Government has proposed Mr Pedro Alexandre ANTUNES FAUSTINO PIMPÃO DOS SANTOS, Presidente da Câmara Municipal de Pombal (Mayor of Pombal), Mr Rogério Conceição BACALHAU COELHO, Presidente da Câmara Municipal de Faro (Mayor of Faro), Mr Gonçalo Nuno BÉRTOLO GORDALINA LOPES, Presidente da Câmara Municipal de Leiria (Mayor of Leiria), and Mr Luís Carlos PITEIRA DIAS, Presidente da Câmara Municipal de Vendas Novas (Mayor of Vendas Novas), representatives of local bodies who hold a local authority electoral mandate, as well as Mr Rogério DE ANDRADE GOUVEIA, Secretário Regional das Finanças do Governo Regional da Madeira (Finance Regional Secretary of Regional Government of Madeira), representative of a regional body who holds a regional authority electoral mandate, as alternate members of the Committee of the Regions for the remainder of the current term of office, which runs until 25 January 2025.
- 5. The Permanent Representatives Committee is therefore asked to suggest that the Council adopt the Decision set out in document 7617/22 as an 'A' item at a forthcoming meeting.

7618/22 ADT/ft 2
GIP.INST

^{7356/22.}